You’re the One That I Want

51h96g4pw9L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Book Review: You’re the One That I Want

Author: Susan May Warren

Review by Grace Olson

The Story

Taken from Tyndale’s website description of You’re the One That I Want:

Owen Christiansen has been in a downward spiral since an injury ended his NHL career. But a job on an Alaskan crabbing boat offers a fresh start . . . maybe even a shot at romance with Elise “Scotty” McFlynn, the captain’s daughter.

Used to being one of the guys, to never relying on anyone, Scotty doesn’t believe in happily ever after—especially with someone like Owen. Her instinct is confirmed when Casper Christiansen arrives to drag his prodigal brother home, bringing with him a truckload of family drama—and even worse, the news that Casper is wanted for questioning in connection to a crime back in Minnesota.

But Owen is more than the sum of his mistakes, a truth both he and Scotty discover when she escorts both brothers to Deep Haven as part of her new job on the Anchorage police force. Thrust into an unfamiliar world of family, faith, and fresh starts, Scotty begins to see potential for a happy ending . . . if she’s brave enough to embrace it.


            Yes, I have reached that point…the Christiansen Family Series has come to an end. However, Susie knows how to close out a series, packed with all the action, drama, and poignancy of the previous books.

I admit, I was nervous to read this last book, since it focuses on bad-boy Owen, and so far in the series, I wasn’t really a fan. However, that’s what made You’re the One That I Want such a compelling read. I could hardly put it down. Right from the start we take off running with a dark feeling of foreboding hanging over the fishing vessel we find Owen on. Per usual, the book has multiple points of view, with Casper and the questions about his involvement with the odious Monte keeping me guessing as to how it would end. Owen and Scotty are both so broken and flawed, so real, that it hurt to read about them. I saw parts of them in me, and in people I’ve known, so I couldn’t help but cheer for them to succeed and for God’s love to break through their resistance and touch their hearts (yeah, yeah, I know, they’re not actually real). Faith is tested, family is brought back together, and Susie spins a tale that puts the spotlight on God’s grace.

Because this is a story about grace, God’s grace mainly, and then the grace we show to others. Which is what makes it such a thing of beauty and impact. We all need grace, none of us deserve it, yet God offers it to all who will trust in His Son.

Here are 2 quotes from the book that I absolutely loved:

“Some of God’s best players were His imperfect, broken prodigals. In fact, iffy players are God’s best picks. He specializes in short-tempered, reckless, flawed people to accomplish His plans…God is constantly using broken, messy people to restore the world and bring glory to Himself.”

“…to do something daring and wild and reach out for grace, even though it doesn’t make sense. But I warn you, once you embrace Christ, you too become a rule breaker. Because a life committed to God requires us to live uncomfortable. Inconveniently. Accountably. Bravely. Transparently. Vulnerably. It requires us to love without rules. Welcome to grace.”

Susie hit it out of the park with this last installment in the series, and while I’m sad to see it end, I can’t help but be thankful for these books. Because Susie has discovered how to combine romance, adventure, drama, and faith in an authentic way that makes me think, and teaches me along the way. I would highly recommend any of Susie’s books, but especially this series.

About the Author

Biography from Tyndale House Publishers’ website: Susan May Warren is the bestselling, Christy and RITA Award–winning author of more than forty novels whose compelling plots and unforgettable characters have won acclaim with readers and reviewers alike. She served with her husband and four children as a missionary in Russia for eight years before she and her family returned home to the States. She now writes full-time as her husband runs a lodge on Lake Superior in northern Minnesota, where many of her books are set. She and her family enjoy hiking, canoeing, and being involved in their local church.

Susan holds a BA in mass communications from the University of Minnesota. Several of her critically acclaimed novels have been ECPA and CBA bestsellers, were chosen as Top Picks by Romantic Times, and have won the RWA’s Inspirational Reader’s Choice contest and the American Christian Fiction Writers Book of the Year award. Five of her books have been Christy Award finalists. In addition to her writing, Susan loves to teach and speak at women’s events about God’s amazing grace in our lives.~ To learn more about Susan and her other books, visit her web page:

I was given a review copy of You’re the One That I Want from the author in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are my own.

What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: