Every Girl Gets Confused

every-girl-gets-confused-by-janice-thompsonBook Review: Every Girl Gets Confused

Author: Janice Thompson

Review by Grace Olson

The Story

Taken from Revell’s website description of Every Girl Gets Confused:

How can she choose between the love she thought she lost and the love she stumbled upon in the aftermath?
Katie Fisher and Brady James may be a match made in heaven, but that doesn’t seem to guarantee them a happily ever after accompanied by angelic choirs. Katie’s almost-fiancé Casey is back in Fairfield, ready to rekindle their relationship. And there’s nothing Katie’s parents want more than for their small-town girl to leave Dallas and come home for good.
But can she really leave Brady behind? And will she ever be able to wear that gorgeous wedding dress she won?

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

            I’ve read a couple books by Janice Thompson in the past, I may even have a few on my kindle currently (that should give you a hint of insight into the size of my TBR list). I hadn’t read the first book in the Brides with Style series, Every Bride Needs a Groom, but I still enjoyed this novel very much. However, if I had the chance to do it over again, I would have read the first book before this one.

Janice Thompson’s writing is characterized by humor, sweet romance, and a home-town feel. Though this book switched back and forth between the big city and small town, the cast of characters, who were a fantastic combo of quirkiness and authenticity, rooted the story in a familial atmosphere. I loved how Janice portrayed the different characters in the book. Often, people didn’t say what they meant, and confusion abounded after some conversations. Sounds like real life, doesn’t it? Which is why I so enjoyed reading this book. I was able to read it for a bit, put it down with a smile on my face, until I meandered back into the story again later. However, I wouldn’t say that the story gripped me as much as others I’ve read recently. I liked how Brady and Katie were the main couple of the story, yet there were so many other intertwining stories with the rest of the cast. The sometimes dry humor that Janice uses is very similar to my kind of humor, which I absolutely loved reading. Perhaps what I liked most was seeing a bit of the culture as far as the different Christian churches in Texas. Presbyterian, Lutheran, Methodist, Baptist, where I’m from the categories aren’t quite so defined. But what I especially appreciated was how Janice portrayed the people from these different denominations working together as believers in Jesus.

If you’re looking for a relaxing escape into a good book, I would recommend this series, based on reading the second book in the series, so take that advice with a grain of salt.

About the Author

Biography from Revell’s website: Janice Thompson is a seasoned romance author and screenwriter. An expert at pulling the humor from the situations we get ourselves into, Thompson offers an inside look at the wedding business, drawing on her own experiences as a wedding planner. She is the author of the hugely popular Weddings by Bella series and the Backstage Pass series, as well as Picture Perfect, The Icing on the Cake, and The Dream Dress. She lives in Texas. Learn more at www.janiceathompson.com

I was given a review copy of Every Girl Gets Confused from the author in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are my own.

2 responses »

  1. Love the sound of the dry humour – never enough of that!

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

