Carry Me Home

CarryMeHomeFrontCoverFinalEndorsement-712x1024Book Review: Carry Me Home

Authors: Dorothy Adamek

Review by Grace Olson

 

The Story

Finella Mayfield hates two things: liars and thieves. And she’s determined to marry a man who’s neither. Chasing her dead father’s dreams, the twenty-year-old English bride arrives in Australia in 1875 for an arranged marriage. Anticipating her future as village preacher’s wife, she records her thoughts in her Everlasting journal.

But instead of her fiancé, Finella is met by Shadrach Jones, a poor farmer sent to collect her from the busy Melbourne pier.

This is not what her father planned. And it’s only the beginning of the unraveling of Finella Mayfield ~ the bride with no groom.

All Shadrach Jones longs for is rows of mustard and chicory. He’s busy growing a farm near the Phillip Island fishing village of Cowes, and caring for Molly, his simple sister. Far from the brutal life they remember with their ex-convict father, Shadrach’s building something

new.

But he’s also made a promise to a dying friend. To collect and marry the English girl destined to never be a preacher’s wife.

Can Shadrach convince Finella she has a future with a farmer? Can he convince himself, knowing his family secrets will haunt their future?

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

            Wow, this book was incredible. When I learned about Carry Me Home and the opportunity to influence for it, I wasn’t entirely sure what I was getting myself into. Reviewing a book can be a risk, especially with new authors, because I only have so much time for reading. So when I read I want to use that time wisely. I’m so glad I took the chance.

I loved how Dorothy portrayed the characters. There were times I honestly didn’t like Finella, but that was because I saw aspects of myself in her. But then I would find myself cheering for her to succeed, to change, and to see Shadrach as the man he was. Speaking of Shadrach, he was a great hero. Flawed, yes, but so sweet, thoughtful, and caring. And Molly…that ending had me near tears. I loved reading about her and her unique way of expressing love and the lessons she taught both Finella and Shadrach. Dorothy really brought to life a stellar cast of characters.

The setting was a character in and of itself. Dorothy, being a native of Australia, was able to bring to life the area in a way I’d never read before. I learned so much about this period of Australia’s history, as well as what that area would have looked like.

Out of everything in this book, the actual writing was what I enjoyed most. Dorothy has a way of painting words on her pages so that they create a breathtaking masterpiece. Each individual stroke is beautiful and only contributes to making the whole glow. Clearly, this debut author has a good handle on her craft, and I will definitely be watching for her future releases.

I was honored to be able to influence for Dorothy, and I know she’ll be an author I will hear much about in the future. If you love history, and want to take a unique, insider’s look at Australia, while being swept away by a heart wrenching romance, then please, read Carry Me Home. You’ll be glad you did.

About the Author

Biography from the author’s website: Australian author, Dorothy Adamek, writes Displacement Fiction ~ the stories of people upended by tragedy and trauma, and their struggle to belong in their new world. Couched in romance, her fiction is set in the late Victorian era. She is the author of Carry Me Home, the first book in the Blue Wren Shallows trilogy, and resides with her family in the world’s most liveable city, Melbourne.  Visit her online at http://dorothyadamek.com .

I was given a review copy of Carry Me Home from the author in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are my own.

What are your thoughts?

