To Get To You

To-Get-to-You-a-novel3-654x1024Book Review: To Get To You

Author: Joanne Bischof

Review by Grace Olson

The Story

Taken from Goodread’s website description of To Get To You:

To get to the girl he loves, Riley Kane must head off on a road trip with the father he never knew. Then pray for a miracle.

Most teens would love to have a pro surfer for a dad. Just not Riley. Abandoned as a kid, he hates the sound of the ocean and the man who gave himself to it.

When the eighteen-year-old learns that his best friend is stranded at a New Mexico hospital as her father fights for his life, Riley hits the highway to head east. But when his Jeep breaks down before he even leaves California, he must rely on the one man he despises to get to the girl who needs him the most. And when it comes to the surfer with the Volkswagen van and dog-eared map, a thousand miles may–or may not–be enough to heal the past.

A story of new beginnings and second chances.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So I have this friend. I’m sure you have one like her, or maybe you are her. 😉 She’s the friend who will tell you about her favorite author and then you, with the best of intentions, assure her you’ll read a book by that author. And then you don’t, because there are so many books and so little time and sometimes we just forget important details like new author names, but I digress (I’ve always wanted to use that word!). My friend knows that I enjoy finding new authors and reviewing books, so she informed me of an opportunity to review a new release by author Joanne Bischof. I’m so glad that I finally got a chance to read a book by Joanne, because oh-my-word, I was blown away.

To Get To You is different than the usual Christian Young Adult book. It’s written from the guy’s point of view. I wasn’t sure how I felt about this at first, but I ended up loving it. I felt I was really able to get to know Riley.

To Get To You started out with a romantic bent, but this book brought so much more to the table. Riley’s relationship with his dad was so authentic and difficult, that it was nice, in a strange way, to read. Probably because of the honesty there in their interactions and reactions. Riley’s relationship with Becca was so sweet, and I loved every minute of it.

Sometimes a book closes and you’re left thinking, “Well, that was nice.” but you feel like the author didn’t quite nail it. Well, Joanne nailed it. Here’s a quote from near the end of To Get To You that I absolutely loved:

“…there are some things you can’t go back from. You just lay the broken pieces down and then there’s grace and its glue, and in a strange way, you’re more whole than before, because this time…this time it’s not your own doing.”

I cannot recommend this book enough to both young adult readers as well as the older readers who love a good story that touches the heart. Reading To Get To You was a joy, and I hope you take the chance to try it out.

About the Author

Biography from Goodreads: Christy Award-finalist and author of The Cadence of Grace series and This Quiet Sky, Joanne Bischof has a deep passion for heartfelt stories that shine light on God’s grace and goodness. She lives in the mountains of Southern California with her husband and their three children. Find her online at http://www.joannebischof.com/

I was given a review copy of To Get To You from the author in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are my own.

What are your thoughts?

