Not By Sight

23411528Book Review: Not By Sight

Author: Kate Breslin

Review by Grace Olson

The Story

Taken from Bethany House’s website description of Not By Sight:

In the spring of 1917, all of Britain’s attention is on the WWI war front and the thousands of young men serving their country on the front lines. Jack Benningham, dashing heir to the Earl of Stonebrooke, is young and able-bodied but refuses to enlist despite the contempt of his peers.

A wealthy young suffragette, Grace Mabry will do anything to assist her country’s cause. Men like Jack infuriate her when she thinks of her own brother fighting in the trenches of France, so she has no reservations about handing him a white feather of cowardice at a posh masquerade ball.

But Grace could not anticipate the danger and betrayal set into motion by her actions, and soon she and Jack are forced to learn the true meaning of courage when the war raging overseas suddenly strikes much closer to home and their fervent beliefs become a matter of life and death.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have heard so many good things about Kate Breslin and her debut novel, For Such A Time. So when I was offered the opportunity to read her latest release, Not By Sight, I didn’t even have to give the idea much thought. Now, after reading this book, I can’t believe I waited so long to read this author.

Not By Sight is a thrilling adventure, with mystery abounding. I loved how the characters were so often in the dark, and that I learned right along with them on many things.

I’ve read a good deal of fiction set during WW1, but not much that has to do with suffragettes and how women helped on the home front, aside from working what used to be the jobs men occupied. So I really learned a lot while reading.

The characters in this book are really what shines. The setting, the plot, the historicity are all wonderful, but the characters… Grace is flawed, and those flaws get her into trouble more than once. So seeing her grow and change and realizing in what ways I’m like her and need to grow and change was eye-opening. And, there’s the fact that Grace is a writer…so that was pretty fun too since we share that passion. 🙂 Jack is just as complex of a character, with hurts that are more than skin-deep. He messes up, yet he’s also a hero. His struggle to see that there is a God, and that He cares for him, was also well-done, without coming across as heavy-handed. Then there are Grace’s ‘sisters’, all colorful characters that I would love to read about later on (maybe?).

Don’t make the same mistake I did by waiting so long to get to know this author’s writing. Not By Sight kept me up at night, captured my thoughts during the day, and snagged my attention until the very last passage. This is a must-read.

About the Author

Biography from Bethany House: A Florida girl who migrated to the Pacific Northwest, Kate Breslin was a bookseller for many years. She is the author of For Such a Time and lives with her husband in Seattle, Washington. Find her online at http://www.katebreslin.com.

I was given a review copy of Not By Sight from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are my own.

What are your thoughts?

