Jaded

708373Book Review: Jaded

Author: Varina Denman

Review by Grace Olson

The Story

Taken from Amazon’s website description of Jaded:

As a child, Ruthie was shunned by the local congregation. Thirteen years later, Ruthie’s heart begins to stir when an attractive single preacher arrives. But their relationship is bitterly opposed—unearthing a string of secrets which threaten to turn the church, the town, and her world upside-down.

Jaded is the rare novel that is both love story between a woman and man … and God and His church. Plunging deep into the waters of shame, forgiveness and restoration, it will resonate with every woman who’s experienced a loss of heart … and a thirst for hope.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s been a while since I read a book and it hurt. Since I’ve read a novel and growled in frustration and anger, then at the end, finally felt the release of the tension bunched in my chest. I’m telling it like it was for me. Jaded was a hard read, but a good one, in all the right ways.

I loved how Jaded was written from Ruthie’s first person point of view. I felt I really understood her, felt her anger, fear, and insecurities. I understood her, and saw how she related to me. I liked that Dodd’s point of view is also included in the book. That man frustrated me to no end sometimes! Which is a good sign, in case you were wondering. He was a great hero sometimes, then other times he was completely clueless and thickheaded. The secondary characters in this book were all very colorful, just like all of Trapp, Texas.

Jaded deals with a hard topic: the church and the people in it. What happens when the church doesn’t act like Christ? Is it worth staying with it? Christians are by no means perfect, and it’s sad to realize how we can drive people away sometimes because of how we act. Which made me think, am I acting like Jesus to those around me? Am I showing Him? I hope so. I know I don’t always. I do know that we shouldn’t give up on the church and God’s people. We’re all fatally flawed, because we’re all sinners. Yet God is in the business of working with flawed people. I liked how Varina Denman painted such a gritty, true picture of what life is sometimes like, and yet showed the light at the end of the tunnel, the saving grace, if you will. That’s why this book was hard to read. I saw truth, and it was uncomfortable. But it’s good.

The romance in this book was sweet, the tension throughout—almost unbearable, the mysteries well-hidden. In all, it was a really good read, but not one I’d recommend for light reading. Because Jaded will make you think, and you never know where that will lead you.

About the Author

Biography from Amazon: Varina Denman writes stories about the unique struggles women face. She teaches creative writing and literature, volunteers in her local cooperative, and is a home educator to her five children. She resides with her family in North Texas.

I was given a review copy of Jaded from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are my own.

2 responses »

  1. Grace, thank you for such a kind review. Your words are an encouragement to me. 🙂

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

