Love’s Rescue

PrintBook Review: Love’s Rescue

Author: Christine Johnson

Review by Grace Olson

The Story

Taken from Baker Publishing House’s website description of Love’s Rescue:

Can a girl enamored with the adventurous seas ever be content with the tame life of a Southern belle?

When her mother dies, Elizabeth Benjamin heads home to Key West, determined to transform herself into the perfect Southern belle her parents always wished her to be. But nothing goes according to plan. Her brother resents her, the servants do not obey her, and Rourke O’Malley, the dashing man she vowed to forget, refuses to relinquish his hold on her heart. Worst of all, it becomes painfully obvious that her father is not the man he appears to be.

As family secrets come to light, Elizabeth is faced with a difficult choice: to perform her duty and abandon her dreams, or to leave her life of privilege behind to chase the man her father sees as little better than a pirate.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There is always some risk involved in trying out a new author, but when I read the back cover of Love’s Rescue, I knew I had to give it a try. I’m so glad I did. Christine Johnson is a new name to me, but one I’ll be watching for in the future.

I’m going to start out talking about the heroine in this review, because I alternately loved her and groaned over her choices. There were times when I wasn’t sure if she would be strong enough to stand against the push from her family to marry the wrong man. She had redeemable qualities, but sometimes it was hard to see those when she was bending to her father’s will out of guilt or duty when he didn’t have her best interests at heart. In the end, though, she did end up trusting God and Rourke enough to do what was right. I also liked how she wasn’t a 21st century heroine, with our views on how wrong slavery was and is, but instead held the views common in that time (1850), and had to have those challenged.

Rourke is an intriguing character, what with him being a wrecker, but an honest one. I knew next to nothing about wreckers, so it was cool to learn about that piece of history, specifically in relation to the Florida Keys. His commitment to God was also evident, but I liked how he had real-life struggles between trusting God and wanting to take action when he knew he was supposed to wait.

In all, I really liked this book. It had a great plot, an awesome setting, sweet romance, hard choices, and an ending that resolved perfectly.

About the Author

Biography from Baker Publishing House’s website: Christine Johnson is the author of several books for Steeple Hill and Love Inspired and has been twice named a finalist for Romance Writers of America’s Golden Heart® award. When not writing, she loves to hike and explore God’s majestic creation. These days, she and her husband, a Great Lakes ship pilot, split their time between northern Michigan and the Florida Keys.

I was given a review copy of Love’s Rescue from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are my own.

One response »

  1. I’ve seen this book at Lifeway and was curious about it, but like you, I wasn’t sure about trying another new author. This does sound like a good book, though. I might have to give it a try.

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

