Blind Trust

Blind_TrustBook Review: Blind Trust

Author: Sandra Orchard

Review by Grace Olson

The Story

Taken from Revell’s website description of Blind Trust:

Kate’s not sure how deep this deception goes–but she’ll do whatever it takes to find out.

Kate Adams had no idea she was carrying counterfeit money and can’t believe that it came from her sweet elderly neighbor. Or that it has landed her in the middle of another of Detective Tom Parker’s investigations. Determined to prove her neighbor’s innocence, Kate stumbles into a pit of intrigue far deeper than a two-bit counterfeit operation–and one that strikes too close to home for comfort.

As family secrets come to light, her world–and her budding romance with Tom–begin to crumble. To Kate, it’s clear that she won’t be safe until she uncovers all of Port Aster’s secrets. But then will it be too late for her and Tom?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sorry this review is a little late. I’ve had a crazy week. I learned on Monday that I am a finalist in the American Christian Fiction Writer’s Genesis Contest in the Novella Category! I had some work to do on my submission before I sent it back in, so that took up a big chunk of my time. So I’m just getting to this review now.

Blind Trust is a little farther off the beaten path as far as novels go for me. If I can tear myself away from the historicals, it’s usually for a contemporary romance, not necessarily a contemporary suspense.

This is the first book I’ve read by Sandra Orchard, so I’m starting in the middle of a series, which I usually avoid doing at all costs. It was hard for me to get into the story at first since I hadn’t read the first book, Deadly Devotion. I read the back cover of Deadly Devotion, which helped, so I felt my way through the first fifty pages or so of Blind Trust before I felt more at home. That being said, I felt like I was able to get into this novel without feeling too lost.

I liked a lot how the titles for these first two books tie in so tightly with the plot. They are truly a huge hint as to what is going on. I was also pleased that I was able to figure out a few of the mysteries in Blind Trust before they were revealed. I also like being surprised, so I was glad I got a good deal of that as well. There is clearly much more to be learned in book 3, however, so I’ll be looking forward to learning what will happen next in Kate’s life and what will happen between Kate and Tom. I also really liked how authentic the characters were. Their emotions felt as real as my own. As far as the spiritual thread, it seems like it had a specific part in the book, but also seemed to have an over-arching thread that would continue into book 3, which I’m looking forward to.

The pacing throughout some of the novel felt slow for me. I set it down and picked it back up several times. Towards the end, the tension was definitely ratcheted up and Sandra had me hooked.

About the Author

Biography from Revell’s website: Sandra Orchard is the award-winning author of several inspirational romantic suspense/mysteries, including Deadly Devotion and Blind Trust. Her Love Inspired Suspense titles have garnered two Canadian Christian Writing Awards and a Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award. Sandra has also received a Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense. In addition to her busy writing schedule, Sandra enjoys speaking at events and teaching writing workshops. She lives in Ontario, Canada. Learn more about Sandra’s books and check out the special bonus features, such as deleted scenes and location pics, at http://sandraorchard.com

I was given a review copy of Blind Trust from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are my own.

 

 

What are your thoughts?

