The Heart’s Pursuit

 

_225_350_Book.1213.coverBook Review: The Heart’s Pursuit

Author: Robin Lee Hatcher

Review by Grace Olson

The Story

Taken from the Goodreads description of The Heart’s Pursuit:

A jilted bride desperate to save her family from ruin.
A bounty hunter seeking vengeance for a ravaged past.
An arduous trek toward justice—or redemption.

Silver Matlock and Jared Newman know traveling together is a bad idea. Bad for Silver’s already tarnished reputation in her small Colorado town. Bad for bounty hunter Jared’s secret, single-minded mission for revenge. But Silver is determined to track down the rogue who left her at the altar and stole the last remnant of her father’s fortune. And Jared’s in a hurry to hunt down the murderer who destroyed his family—even if Silver is too distractingly beautiful for comfort.

The pair takes off over mountain and desert, past bleak homesteads and raw mining towns, hot on the trail of the two villains who took what wasn’t theirs to take. Soon supplies dwindle, secrets emerge, and suspicion leave Silver and Jared at odds when they need each other most. To confront an enemy deadlier than desert rattlesnakes and rocky cliffs, Silver and Jared must learn to forgive and trust and face the question they haven’t dared voice: What happens next?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m sure I’ll be given strange looks when I say I believe this is the first book I’ve read and finished by Robin Lee Hatcher. I know, I know, what rock have I been hiding under all this time? I believe I started one or two of her novels, but didn’t finish them. Probably more from lack of time than lack of interest. I can’t remember. Anyhow, The Heart’s Pursuit was a good book to fully introduce me to this best-selling author.

What I liked:

The romance that develops between Silver and Jared is clearly meant to be. It’s very sweet and fun to read.

Silver was my favorite character. I liked how she was willing to go after her former fiance to try to save her family. Which brings me to the mystery element of this book. I wasn’t expecting a mystery, but I really enjoyed what Robin did to connect Jared and Silver’s quests. The tidbit about the Rainbow Saloon was really interesting and I wish Robin had elaborated on it more, though if she had, it may have taken away from the story. The Heart’s Pursuit had great pacing to the very end, and I had no problem holding interest in this book.

What I didn’t like:

While I liked Silver and Jared’s romance, it seemed that at the end the theme was more “we have each other and that’s all we need,” than God’s love being a prevailing factor. I understand, this is a romance, but I also thought the spiritual threads woven in throughout the novel would be emphasized at the end.

There was one point where Silver’s actions seemed abrupt and out of character.

About the Author

Biography from Robin’s website: Best-selling novelist Robin Lee Hatcher is known for her heartwarming and emotionally charged stories of faith, courage, and love. She discovered her vocation after many years of reading everything she could put her hands on, including the backs of cereal boxes and ketchup bottles. After fifteen years writing for the general fiction market and a change in her own heart, Robin began to write stories that included her Christian faith and values. Winner of the Christy, the RITA, the Carol, the Inspirational Reader’s Choice, and many other awards, she is also a recipient of the prestigious RWA Lifetime Achievement Award. Robin is the author of over 70 novels and novellas. ~ To learn more about Robin visit her web page: http://www.robinleehatcher.com/

I was given a review copy of The Heart’s Pursuit from the publisher via their book review bloggers program in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are my own.

 

 

What are your thoughts?

