Until I Found You

 

9780764211522Book Review: Until I Found You

Author: Victoria Bylin

Review by Grace Olson

The Story

Taken from Bethany House Publisher’s website description of Until I Found You:

Finding each other was only the beginning . . .

When Kate Darby swerves off a mountain road to avoid hitting a California condor, she ends up trapped in her car, teetering on the edge of a cliff. Terrified, she breathes a prayer that changes her life.

It’s Nick Sheridan who comes to Kate’s rescue. Nick is handsome and confident, and he seems to develop a habit of rescuing her, but Kate is in town only until her grandmother recuperates from a stroke. She’s not planning to get involved with one of the locals.

Nick is a reformed veteran of life in the fast lane, a new Christian, and a travel writer. When he sees a car dangling on the edge of a cliff, the daredevil in him jumps into action. He doesn’t expect to be swept off his feet by the car’s occupant. He’s made a vow–no dating for a year–but keeping that vow is going to be a lot more difficult now that he’s met Kate Darby. . . .

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The cover of Until I Found You is what most appealed to me. It seemed to hint at sweet romance, and a friendship as the foundation for that relationship. Perhaps I read way too much into covers, but I decided to review the book on those grounds nonetheless. 🙂

What I liked:

Leona, Kate’s grandmother, is a great character. She’s funny, yet she has so many good things to say. Learning about her through her journal entries for Kate was really interesting, and added a lot of depth to her character. She’s the grandmother everyone wants.

Kate’s character was very relatable. She has a lot of fears, so she struggles to trust. I think we can all identify with that, as well as the desire to be in control. The choice she must make between trusting in herself and trusting in God is also one close to home. Sometimes it seems I have to make the choice to trust God with my life almost on a daily basis.

I loved Nick. He’s flawed, yet he’s also kind, compassionate, and patient with Kate. He realizes her true need is for an encounter with the living God. Though it might hurt their relationship, he does his best to step out of the way so that she might see the truth, and finally be set free.

What I didn’t like:

There was one particular scene in the book that had me confused. Kate decides she wants what Nick has, but it’s not entirely clear if she gives her life to Christ at that point. It seemed that’s what the author was saying, but I wasn’t sure.

Also, the writing took me out of the story a couple times. It seemed abrupt, and rather like a play-by-play ‘telling’ rather than showing.

I’m still undecided over what I think of the California condors. I googled them, and they kind of look like big vultures to me. I liked the part they played in some of the characters’ development, but other times it seemed like there was too much emphasis put on them.

What do you think about environmental factors being tackled in novels? Do you find it pushy, or do you enjoy a glimpse into an endangered species?

About the Author

Biography from Bethany House Publisher’s website: Victoria Bylin is a romance author acclaimed for her realistic and relatable characters. Her books have finaled in multiple contests, including the Carol Awards, the RITAs, and RT Magazine’s Reviewers Choice Award. A native of California, Vicki and her husband now make their home in Lexington, Kentucky, where their family and their crazy little dog, Hartley, keep them on the go. ~ To learn more about Victoria visit her web page: http://www.victoriabylin.com/

I was given a review copy of Until I Found You from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are solely my own.

 

What are your thoughts?

