My Foolish Heart

 

myfoolishheartBook Review: My Foolish Heart

Author: Susan May Warren

Review by Grace Olson

The Story

Taken from Tyndale House Publisher’s website description of My Foolish Heart:

Unknown to her tiny town of Deep Haven, Isadora Presley spends her nights as Miss Foolish Heart, the star host of a syndicated talk radio show. Millions tune in to hear her advice on dating and falling in love, unaware that she’s never really done either. Issy’s ratings soar when it seems she’s falling in love on-air with a caller. A caller she doesn’t realize lives right next door.

Caleb Knight served a tour of duty in Iraq and paid a steep price. The last thing he wants is pity, so he hides his disability and moves to Deep Haven to land his dream job as the high school football coach. When his beautiful neighbor catches his eye, in a moment of desperation he seeks advice from My Foolish Heart, the show that airs before his favorite sports broadcast.

Before he knows it, Caleb finds himself drawn to the host—and more confused than ever. Is his perfect love the woman on the radio . . . Or the one next door?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I had an evening free last week and I was looking for something with great characters, realistic romance, and an inspiring message to read. Naturally I picked up one of Susan May Warren’s novels.

My Foolish Heart is a sweet tale of pursuit, loyalty, and trust. I love how Susan can weave four character’s stories throughout the novel and I never feel like I’m cheated out of knowing each of them individually. However, I never felt as if I was getting weighted down with the characters’ interior struggles or felt distant from the characters because of too much action.

Issy was a character I had no trouble feeling sympathy for, and I definitely cheered for those seemingly ‘small’ victories. Caleb is a hero worth waiting for, in more ways than one. He is kind, yet firm in encouraging Issy, a trait that she desperately needs. The two other characters are also compelling, creating a bit of uncertainty in me when two were in competing positions. All of these people carry wounds they try to mask, but must inevitably face. Perhaps that is what makes them so real.

A story imbued with hope and faith in God, My Foolish Heart is so much more than a love story. Once again, Susan delivered. I read this novel in ebook form, but I’ll definitely be getting my own hard copy of it to put on my bookshelf to read again in the future.

About the Author

Biography from Tyndale House Publishers’ website: Susan May Warren is the bestselling, Christy and RITA Award–winning author of more than forty novels whose compelling plots and unforgettable characters have won acclaim with readers and reviewers alike. She served with her husband and four children as a missionary in Russia for eight years before she and her family returned home to the States. She now writes full-time as her husband runs a lodge on Lake Superior in northern Minnesota, where many of her books are set. She and her family enjoy hiking, canoeing, and being involved in their local church.

Susan holds a BA in mass communications from the University of Minnesota. Several of her critically acclaimed novels have been ECPA and CBA bestsellers, were chosen as Top Picks by Romantic Times, and have won the RWA’s Inspirational Reader’s Choice contest and the American Christian Fiction Writers Book of the Year award. Five of her books have been Christy Award finalists. In addition to her writing, Susan loves to teach and speak at women’s events about God’s amazing grace in our lives.~ To learn more about Susan and her other books, visit her web page: http://www.susanmaywarren.com/

 

What are your thoughts?

