Caught in the Middle

 

Caught in the MiddleBook Review: Caught in the Middle

Author: Regina Jennings

Review by Grace Olson

The Story

Taken from Bethany House’s website description of Caught in the Middle:

She Wants the Freedom of the Open Plains.
He Wants the Prestige of a Successful Career.
Neither is Ready for What Comes Instead.

The train to Garber, Texas, is supposed to bring life’s next victory to Nicholas Lovelace. Instead, it gets held up by robbers who are thwarted by the last person Nick ever expected–Anne Tillerton from back home in Prairie Lea.

Anne’s been hiding away as a buffalo hunter. She’s only in town to find their runaway cook, but the woman flees–leaving Anne with her infant son. With Nick the only person Anne knows in town, the two form an unlikely team as they try to figure out what to do with the child.

But being in town means acting and dressing for polite society–and it’s not going well for Anne. Meanwhile, Nick’s work is bringing new pressures, and being seen with a rough-around-the-edges woman isn’t helping his reputation. Caught between their own dreams, a deepening relationship, and others’ expectations, can the pair find their way to love?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I believe Caught in the Middle may be my favorite of Regina’s novels. Since I first picked up Sixty Acres and a Bride, I’ve been a fan of this author, and her latest release reminded me why.

Regina has several things going for her that have put her on my favorite-author-list. 1. She writes historical novels. My favorite genre. 2. She sets them in the West. My favorite region to read about! 3. She writes romances that I get caught up in. She’s able to make not only her heroines fall in love with the hero, but me as well. By themselves, these three points would make me want to come back for more. However, Caught in the Middle, just like her other books, also has a faith element that is so important to me. I would call it the icing on the cake, but it is really the flour without which the dessert would truly be lacking. It is the substance that would leave me hungry if it were not there. To give you a peek at what I’m talking about, here’s the two questions this book tackles. “Is God to be loved apart from His gifts?…Is He to be obeyed despite the consequences?” I don’t believe the answers found through these characters’ respective journeys will leave you wanting.

Just so you know, there are two books that precede Caught in the Middle. Each are loosely connected to the others as far as familiar characters. Even if you haven’t read either of the other two books you’ll be able to enjoy Caught in the Middle, though I did enjoy already having some background knowledge to both Nicholas and Anne.

About the Author

Biography from Bethany House’s website: Regina Jennings is a graduate of Oklahoma Baptist University with a degree in English and a history minor. She has worked at The Mustang News and First Baptist Church of Mustang, along with time at the Oklahoma National Stockyards and various livestock shows. She now lives outside Oklahoma City with her husband and four children. ~ To learn more about Regina and her other books, visit her web page: http://www.reginajennings.com/

I was given a review copy of Caught in the Middle from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are solely my own.

 

 

What are your thoughts?

