Shadow Hand

 

ShadowHand_complete

Book Review: Shadow Hand

 

Author: Anne Elisabeth Stengl

 

Review by Grace Olson

 

 

The Story

 

Taken from Bethany House’s website description of Shadow Hand:

This is a story about blood.
And love.
And the many things that lie between.

By her father’s wish, Lady Daylily is betrothed to the Prince of Southlands. Not the prince she loves, handsome and dispossessed Lionheart, but his cousin, the awkward and foolish Prince Foxbrush. As her wedding day dawns, Daylily flees into the dangerous Wilderlands, her only desire to vanish from living memory.

But Foxbrush, determined to rescue his betrothed, pursues Daylily into a new world of magic and peril, a world where vicious Faerie beasts hold sway, a world invaded by a lethal parasite.

A world that is hauntingly familiar.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As you all should know by now, I love Anne Elisabeth’s books. As I read Shadow Hand, I was unsure at first as to whether I would feel the same about this book. I had a bit of trouble getting into this story world, a world made darker by the villain of this tale. By the time I finished, however, I realized this too was a book that I would gladly return to in the future, but maybe not for the reason you might think.

I was reminded, yet again, why I love Anne Elisabeth’s writing. It is the underlying themes that catch at my heart and beg me to return again and again. Redemption. New life. Hope eternal in the One who created us, and molds those who will let Him into the people we were designed to be. Shadow Hand was entertaining, the characters unique and memorable, but it is this element of mercy and unfathomable love that thrills my heart and revives in me the desire to become closer to and truly know my Savior. This is what I look for in the various novels I read. What resonates with me is that underlying tone that goes beyond entertainment or even creating an emotional experience, to what truly matters.

I would highly recommend this book. For those of you who have read the other Tales of Goldstone Wood, you’ll find some familiar faces and some altogether new. The characters in Shadow Hand are all flawed, and some can be difficult to like, but be on your guard against prejudging them, for none are beyond redemption.

About the Author

Biography from Bethany House’s website: Anne Elisabeth Stengl makes her home in Raleigh, North Carolina, where she lives with her husband, Rohan, a passel of cats, and one long-suffering dog. When she’s not writing, she enjoys Shakespeare, opera, and tea, and studies piano, painting, and pastry baking. She studied illustration at Grace College and English literature at Campbell University. She is the author of Heartless, Veiled Rose, Moonblood, Starflower, Dragonwitch, and Shadow Hand. Heartless, Veiled Rose, and Moonblood have each been honored with a Christy Award. ~ To learn more about Anne and her other books, visit her web page: http://anneelisabethstengl.blogspot.com/

I was given a review copy of Shadow Hand from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are solely my own.

 

What are your thoughts?

