A Match Made In Texas

9780764211768Book Review: A Match Made In Texas

Authors: Karen Witemeyer, Mary Connealy, Regina Jennings, Carol Cox

Review by Grace Olson 

The Story

Taken from Bethany House’s website synopsis of A Match Made In Texas:

 There’s a secret matchmaker at work in frontier Texas!

In the small town of Dry Gulch, Texas, a good-hearted busybody just can’t keep herself from surreptitiously trying to match up women in dire straits with men of good character she hopes can help them. How is she to know she’s also giving each couple a little nudge toward love?
A Cowboy Unmatched
Neill isn’t sure who hired him to repair Clara’s roof–he only knows Clara desperately needs his help. Can he convince this stubborn widow to let down her guard and take another chance on love?
An Unforeseen Match
Hoping to earn an honest wage on his way to the land rush, Clayton ends up on Grace’s doorstep, lured by a classified ad. He may have signed on for more than he expected though–and he may have found the one woman who can keep him from moving on.
No Match for Love
Andrew can’t fathom how refined Lucy ended up as the caretaker to his dotty aunt, and somehow her arrival has prompted even more bizarre occurrences around the ranch. When they join forces to unearth the truth, will the attraction between Andrew and Lucy develop into more?
Meeting Her Match
When the tables are turned and a tenderhearted meddler becomes the beneficiary of a matchmaking scheme, her world is turned upside down. As her entire life changes, will she finally be able to tell the banker’s son how much she cares for him?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

I absolutely fell in love with this collection and its characters. When I requested this book, I had read two of Regina Jennings’s novels, part of a book by Karen Witemeyer, and started the first five pages of a Mary Connealy novel. And while I had heard of Carol Cox, I had never read any of her books. Boy will I be changing that for these four authors.

First, Karen’s story, A Cowboy Unmatched. I was already somewhat familiar with Neill when I received this collection, so I was very interested to see what was going to happen with him. As I’m beginning to discover, Karen does not disappoint. This was a sweet love story with plenty of tension as far as the villain was concerned. What a great start to A Match Made In Texas!

In An Unforeseen Match, the heroine shared my name, fancy that, so I already had a connection with her. I have really loved Regina’s novels, and this one absolutely delivered. What a beautiful love story! Grace having to overcome her blindness and Clayton helping her with that was so compelling, and it had a marvelous ending!

My first look at Carol Cox’s writing, No Match For Love, got me hooked. This novella had some mystery in it, which I thought I had figured out, but she threw in a twist that had me chuckling. After the previous two authors that I had some experience with and whose writing I enjoyed, I wondered if Carol’s story would hold the same appeal for me. Did it? You betcha!

At last, in Meeting Her Match, I got to meet the woman who has been anonymously helping all these other couples to find their true loves. And what a story she had! Let’s just say that this matchmaker isn’t the only scheming lady in Dry Gulch. How this woman finally found her own match surprised me, but it was the perfect end to this novella collection.

Final thoughts? Love, love, loved it! All four of these romances flowed beautifully together, despite the fact that all of them have very different characters, plots, and even authors! A Match Made In Texas is definitely the best book I have read recently, and one I would highly recommend. Well done, ladies!

If you want a glimpse of what these characters might look like, take a look at this blog: http://ncharacters.blogspot.com/2014/01/the-many-characters-from-match-made-in.html I recently re-discovered it, and have been loving looking through the archives. Stop by and take a peek!

About the Authors 

Since there are four different authors involved in this book, I’m not going to introduce you to all of them. If you want to learn more about any of these ladies and the other books they’ve written, you can go to their respective websites: Karen Witemeyer: http://www.karenwitemeyer.com/ Mary Connealy: http://www.maryconnealy.com/ Regina Jennings: http://www.reginajennings.com/ Carol Cox: http://authorcarolcox.com/

I was given a review copy of A Match Made In Texas from Bethany House Publishers, a division of Baker Publishing Group House, in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are solely my own.

What are your thoughts?

