With Autumn’s Return

SampleBook Review: With Autumn’s Return

Author: Amanda Cabot

Review by Grace Olson

The Story

Taken from Revell’s website synopsis of With Autumn’s Return:

She’s planning on instant success. She didn’t plan on love.

When Elizabeth Harding arrives in Cheyenne to open her medical practice, she is confident that the future is as bright as the warm Wyoming sun. Certain she’ll have a line of patients eager for her services, she soon discovers the town may not welcome a new physician–especially a lady doctor. Even Jason Nordling, the handsome young attorney next door, seems to disapprove of her chosen profession.

When a web of deceit among Cheyenne’s wealthiest residents threatens to catch Elizabeth and Jason in its snare, they must risk working together to save one of Elizabeth’s patients–even if it means falling in love.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When given the opportunity to review With Autumn’s Return, I immediately placed my request. Why? Well, I visited a museum out in the Nebraska/Wyoming area a couple years ago and in that museum they mentioned a woman doctor who came to the area in the 1800s. I was intrigued by this, since I knew that women were not often regarded as “real” doctors back then. The back cover copy of With Autumn’s Return instantly had me thinking of that real life story, so I thought I’d give it a try.

This being the first of any books I have read by Amanda Cabot, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I ended up really enjoying the characters in this book. Elizabeth and Jason are clearly perfect for each other, but I often wondered if they would ever realize that fact for themselves. They each give equally terrible first impressions that must be overcome, and they both hold deep-rooted beliefs that present a problem to their relationship. Elizabeth believes she cannot be a wife and a mother since no man would share her with the career she believes God has called her to serve in. Jason wants a real mother for his future children. One that will care for them and love them. So you see, they are at an impasse. Someone will have to bend if this relationship will work. I definitely felt for Gwen, a secondary character, in her belief that no one would truly love her because she is “fat”. I loved how Cabot ended up resolving this issue.

Something I did not expect in this book was the intrigue involving several prominent members in society. This lent a suspenseful air to the book as the plot moved on, especially in the last quarter of the novel.

Overall, this was an entertaining read. At times it felt a bit slow, but I was glad I requested it. The historical detail as well as the opposition Elizabeth faced as a female doctor was interesting and made for a story that went beyond entertainment and ventured into the realm of education. I should mention that this is the last book in the Westward Winds series. Thankfully, the series does not have to be read in order, so I was able to enjoy With Autumn’s Return without feeling I was missing out on something. Now I just need to get my hands on the previous two books. 🙂

About the Author

Biography from Amazon’s website: Amanda Cabot is the bestselling author of the Texas Dreams series, Christmas Roses, Summer of Promise, and Waiting for Spring. Her books have been finalists for the ACFW Carol Awards and the Booksellers Best. She lives in Wyoming. ~ To learn more about Amanda and her other books, visit her web page: http://sff.net/people/amanda.cabot/

With Autumn’s Return is available for download, check-out, or paper copy.

I was given a review copy of With Autumn’s Return from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group House, in exchange for an honest review. I received no monetary compensation for my review. The opinions expressed are solely my own.

One response »

  1. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review my book. I’m delighted that you enjoyed Elizabeth and Jason’s story.

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

